SUBSCRIBE |  
Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Umami

Author: Laia Jufresa
$24.40
Add to Cart
ISBN: 9781780748917
In Stock
Included in

Synopsis

For fans of Ali Smith and A.M. Homes comes this captivating debut from Mexico's most exciting rising star. It started with a drowning. Deep in the heart of Mexico City, where five houses cluster around a sundrenched courtyard, lives Ana, a precocious twelve-year-old who spends her days buried in Agatha Christie novels to forget the mysterious death of her little sister years earlier. Over the summer she decides to plant a garden in the courtyard, and as she digs the ground and plants her seeds, her neighbors in turn delve into their past. As the ripple effects of grief, childlessness, illness and displacement saturate their stories, secrets seep out and questions emerge - Who was my wife? Why did my Mom leave? Can I turn back the clock? And how could a girl who knew how to swim drown? In prose that is dazzlingly inventive, funny and tender, Jufresa immerses us in the troubled lives of her narrators, deftly unpicking their stories to offer a darkly comic portrait of contemporary Mexico, as whimsical as it is heartwrenching. Read More

Magazine article

5 star review Umami is not a book to grab for a five-minute read. It demands slabs of time, but you will be rewarded with a compassionate, darkly comic portrait of five households going through a tough time. Read on >

Readers' reviews