Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Winners announced for NSW Premier’s History Awards

Winners announced for NSW Premier’s History Awards

The first Premier’s History Awards took place last week, with the winners announced on Friday evening at the State Library of NSW as a part of the launch of NSW History Week.

Winners were announced across five categories, with each winner being awarded $15,000 in prize money from a pool of $75,000.

NSW Premier, Gladys Berejiklian said that ‘these awards celebrate the great achievements of Australian historians who provide compelling insights into our past and allow the stories of our nation to be retold for generations to come. I congratulate this year’s winning historians, writers, creators and producers for their great work.’

‘The winners of the 2020 Premier’s History Awards represent the finest books among the shortlisted works,’ said Professor Tanya Evans, Senior Judge Associate.

‘More than ever, these awards demonstrate the originality, boldness and tenacity of those undertaking historical research in Australia, and the significance of their discoveries for our contemporary lives.’

State Librarian John Vallance encouraged people to look into the entirety of the shortlist, as well as the winners.

‘These prizes are important. But have a look at all these shortlisted works as well,’ he said.

‘Literary and historical prizes are notoriously difficult to judge, and for me what is far more important than the prize itself is the atmosphere which makes writing and reading possible.

Check out the winners below!