Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

WA Premier's Book Awards announce shortlists

WA Premier's Book Awards announce shortlists

The shortlist for the 2018 Western Australia Premier's Book Awards have been announced, with the winners to be announced on the 26th of July. 

It's the first Premier's Book Awards since 2016 - last year, the WA state government announced they would be returning to an annual format. The awards aim to support, develop and recognise excellence in writing, particular that coming from Western Australia. All awards with the exception of the Daisy Utemorrah Award are only open to WA authors. 

You can check out the shortlisted titles for each category below: 


Premier’s Prize for an emerging writer ($15,000)

  • If I Tell You (Alicia Tuckerman, Pantera Press)
  • The Rúin (Dervla McTiernan, HarperCollins)
  • The Sky Runs Right Through Us (Reneé Pettitt-Schipp, UWAP)
  • The Wounded Sinner (Gus Henderson, Magabala)
  • You Belong Here (Laurie Steed, Margaret River Press)


Premier’s Prize for writing for children ($15,000)

  • Grandpa, Me and Poetry (Sally Morgan, illus by Craig Smith, Scholastic)
  • The Happiness Box (Mark Greenwood, illus by Andrew McLean, Walker)
  • The Hole Story (Kelly Canby, Fremantle Press)
  • How to Win a Nobel Prize (Barry Marshall and Lorna Hendry, illus by Bernard Caleo, Piccolo Nero)
  • Puddle Hunters (Kirsty Murray, illus by Karen Blair, A&U)


The Daisy Utemorrah Award for unpublished Indigenous junior and YA writing ($15,000)

  • ‘Coincidence’ by Paul Callaghan
  • ‘Mother Speaks’ by Kirli Saunders
  • ‘Tracks of the Missing’ by Carl Merrison Hakea Hustler


Western Australian Writing Fellowship ($60,000)

  • A J Betts
  • Amanda Curtin
  • Craig Silvey
  • Kylie Howarth
  • Madelaine Dickie.