Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Winners of the Thriller Writers Awards announced

Winners of the Thriller Writers Awards announced

The winners of the International Thriller Writers’ Awards have been announced for 2020 at the virtual Thrillerfest event, which took place on July 11.

Popular Australian writers, Adrian McKinty and Dervla McTiernan, were among the winners, with McKinty winning Best Hardcover Novel for The Chain, and McTiernan winning Best Paperback Original for The Scholar.

The awards are now in their 14th year. 

The Chain is having a particularly competitive award season – it has also been nominated for the Theakston Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year, along with Australian book The Lost Man, by Jane Harper. 

McTiernan has also received widespread acclaim for The Scholar, which was also shortlisted for an Australian Book Industry Award in the General Fiction Book of the Year category.

Both books were reviewed positively by the gr community.

Reviewing The Scholar, Lesley West said that what she enjoyed about the book was ‘the attention to detail, and the remarkably normal and real characters that make up a team and achieve an outcome.’

Reviewing The Chain, Craig Sisterson says, ‘McKinty delivers a heart-clutching thriller that mainlines parental nightmares. It’s terrifying and traumatising in a way that shockingly violent fare just can’t match.’

You can read our full reviews here for The Scholar and The Chain.


Buy the books:

The Scholar, by Dervla McTiernan      Buy

The Chain, by Adrian McKinty             Buy