Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Tade Thompson's Rosewater wins 2019 Arthur C Clarke award

Tade Thompson's Rosewater wins 2019 Arthur C Clarke award

Rosewater by Tade Thompson has been announced as the winner of the 2019 Arthur C Clarke award. 

Since 1987 the Arthur C Clarke award has recognised the best science fiction published in Britain every year. Beginning with Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, previous winners include Pat Cadigan, Neal Stephenson, Geoff Ryman, Gwyneth Jones and Marge Piercy. 

Rosewater takes place in 2066, where an alien invasion has left humanity powerless due to microscopic fungal pores. A town called Rosewater forms on the outskirts of an alien biodome in rural Nigeria where, once a year, the dome opens, healing the sick and resurrecting the dead. The alien presence also begins to awaken telepathic skills among select "sensitives". The novel follows one sensitive, Kaaro, who is tasked with investigating the mysterious deaths of other sensitives. 

Prize judge chair Andrew Butler said of the novel:

“Alien invasion is always a political subject, and Tade Thompson … expertly explores the nature of the alien, global power structures and pervasive technologies with a winning combination of science fictional invention, gritty plotting and sly wit.”

Rosewater was among 124 novels submitted to the prize - the largest ever. It was shortlisted against Frankenstein in Baghdad by Ahmed Saadawi, Semiosis by Sue Burke, Revenant Gun by Yoon Ha Lee, The Electric State by Simon Stålenhag, and The Loosening Skin by Aliya Whiteley. 

You can grab a copy of Rosewater (and read reviews from fellow readers) here!