Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2020 Prime Minister's Literary Award winners announced

2020 Prime Minister's Literary Award winners announced

The winners of the 2020 Prime Minister's Literary Awards have been announced, celebrating outstanding literary talent in Australia across fiction, non fiction, YA and children's literature, poetry and Australian history. 

The awards first began in 2008 with a fiction prize, before non-fiction was added in 2009, YA and children's in 2010, and poetry added in 2012, as well as the Prime Minister's Prize for Australian History merging with the awards.

The winners of each prize receive $80 000 as part of the prize. The shortlisted winners (announced in November) were each awarded $5000.

Watch the announcement video below:

Here's the full list of winners, with links to our reviews and articles!

Fiction: The Yield by Tara June Winch | Read the Article

Non-fiction joint winners:

Songspirals: sharing women's wisdom of Country through songlines by the Gay'wu Group of Women | Read our review

Sea People: The Puzzle of Polynesia by Christina Thompson

Poetry: The Lost Arabs by Omar Sakr

Children's literature: Cooee Mittigar: A Story on Darug Songlines by Jasmine Seymour, illustrated by Leanne Mulgo Watson | Read our review

Young adult literature: How it Feels to Float by Helena Fox

Australian history: Meeting the Waylo: Aboriginal Encounters in the Archipelago by Tiffany Shellam