Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Ned Kelly 2019 Shortlist Announced

Ned Kelly 2019 Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the 24th Ned Kelly Awards have been announced, recognising the Australia's best crime writers. 

Run by the Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA), the Ned Kelly Awards play a huge role in championing Australia's crimewriters not only locally but overseas. Previous winners include Helen Garner, Michael Robotham, Peter Temple, Jane Harper and Adrian McKinty. 

This year saw the largest number of entries in the Award's history. The winners will be announced at teh BAD Sydney Crime Writers festivaal on Friday September 6 - go here for tickets! In the meantime, check out the three shortlists below; 


Best Crime


  • Killshot – Garry Disher (Text Publishing)
  • Gone By Midnight – Candice Fox (Penguin Random House)
  • The Spotted Dog – Kerry Greenwood (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Lost Man – Jane Harper (Macmillan Australia)
  • The Other Wife – Michael Robotham (Hachette Australia)
  • Live and Let Fry – Sue Williams (Text Publishing)


Best First Fiction


  • The Portrait of Molly Dean – Katherine Kovacic (Echo Publishing)
  • The Rúin – Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins Australia)
  • The Yellow House – Emily O’Grady (Allen & Unwin)
  • Greenlight - Ben Stevenson (Penguin Books Australia)


Best True Crime


  • Eggshell Skull - Bri Lee (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Arsonist - Chloe Hooper (Penguin Random House)
  • The Lindt Café Siege - Deborah Snow (Allen & Unwin)
  • Waiting for Elijah - Kate Wild (Scribe Publishing)