Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Ned Kelly 2019 Longlist announced

Ned Kelly 2019 Longlist announced

The Australian Crime Writing Association have announced the longlist for the 2019 Ned Kelly Awards, recognising the best in Aussie crime writing. 

Now in its 24th year, the Ned Kelly Awards recognise the best in crime fiction, true crime, and debut crime books. Previous winners include Helen Garner, Peter Temple, Jon Cleary, Adrian McKinty and Jane Harper. This year has seen the largest number of entrants in the awards' 24-year history. 

The awards will be held in Sydney at the Bad Sydney Crime Writers Festival, taking place Friday September 6. In the meantime, have a look at the longlist below: 

Best First Fiction

Best Crime

  • Mark Brandi - The Rip (Hachette)
  • Garry Disher - Killshot (Text)
  • Candice Fox - Gone By Midnight (PenguinRandomHouse)
  • Kerry Greenwood - The Spotted Dog (Allen & Unwin)
  • Chris Hammer – Scrublands (Allen & Unwin)
  • Jane Harper - The Lost Man (Pan Macmillan)
  • Michael Robotham - The Other Wife (Hachette)
  • Jock Serong – Preservation (Text)
  • Tiffany Tsao - Under Your Wings (PenguinRandomHouse)
  • Sue Williams - Live and Let Fry (Text)

Best True Crime

  • Rachel Brown – Trace: who Killed Maria James? (Scribe)
  • Chloe Hooper - The Arsonist (PenguinRandomHouse)
  • Bri Lee - Eggshell Skull (Allen & Unwin)
  • Colin McLaren - Southern Justice (Hachette)
  • Deborah Snow – Siege (Allen & Unwin)
  • Kerry Tucker with Craig Henderson - The Prisoner: How One Woman's Jail Term was the Making of Her (PenguinRandomHouse)
  • Jamelle Wells - The Court Reporter (Harper Collins)
  • Kate Wild - Waiting for Elijah (Scribe)