Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

National Book Awards 2021 winners announced

National Book Awards 2021 winners announced

The National Book Foundation announced the 2021 winners of the National Book Awards in Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry, Translated Literature and Young People’s Literature.

The Awards recognise and celebrate the best literature in America across five categories.

Author Jason Mott won the National Book Foundation’s 2021 prize for fiction, for his novel Hell of a Book.

The judges praised the book saying: ‘With audacity and invention, Jason Mott’s Hell of a Book weaves together three narrative strands—an unnamed author, a boy named Soot, and a figure known as The Kid—into a masterful novel. In a structurally and conceptually daring examination of art, fame, family and being Black in America, Mott somehow manages the impossible trick of being playful, insightful and deeply moving, all at the same time. A highly original, inspired work that breaks new ground.’

Each of the winners will receive a prize of $10 000 and a bronze medal and statue.

The US foundation’s 72nd annual awards were presented online - watch the ceremony below:


Check out the winners for the following five categories:


Hell of a Book, Jason Mott (Dutton/Penguin Random House)


All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley’s Sack, a Black Family Keepsake, Tiya Miles (Random House/Penguin Random House)


Floaters, Martín Espada (W W Norton & Company)


Winter in Sokcho, Elisa Shua Dusapin, Translated from the French by Aneesa Abbas Higgins (Open Letter)


Last Night at the Telegraph Club, Malinda Lo (Dutton Books for Young Readers/Penguin Random House)