Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Miles Franklin 2019 shortlist announced

Miles Franklin 2019 shortlist announced

Six authors have made the shortlist for the 2019 Miles Franklin awards, announced last night during a ceremony at the State Library of NSW. 

Among the shortlist is previous shortlisters Rodney Hall and Gail Jones, as well as previous longlister Mellissa Lucashenko and newcomers Gregory Day, Michael Mohammed Ahamad and Jennifer Mills. 

During the ceremony, Judge Bernadette Brennen said that the shortlisted authors were “unafraid to take risks [in adressing] complex, disparate and urgent aspects of contemporary Australian life”. 

The 2019 Miles Franklin shortlist

  • The Lebs by Michael Mohammed Ahmad (Hachette Australia)

  • A Sand Archive by Gregory Day (Picador Australia)

  • A Stolen Season by Rodney Hall (Picador Australia)

  • The Death of Noah Glass by Gail Jones (Text Publishing)

  • Too Much Lip by Melissa Lucashenko (University of Queensland Press)

  • Dyschronia by Jennifer Mills (Picador Australia)

A Stolen Season could be Rodney Hall's third Miles Franklin-winning novel, and The Death of Noah Glass would be Gail Jones' third book to be shortlisted. Melissa Lucashenko was previously shortlisted for her 2014 novel Mullumbimby. Too Much Lip marks her first foray into the Miles Franklin Shortlist. 

The winner of the 2019 Miles Franklin award will be announced on the 30th of July.