Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Laura Jean McKay wins 2021 Arthur C Clarke Award

Laura Jean McKay wins 2021 Arthur C Clarke Award

Author Laura Jean McKay has been awarded the UK’s Arthur C Clarke Award for science fiction for her book The Animals In That Country, published by Scribe Publications.

This year marks the 35th year of the annual awards, and it celebrates and recognises the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year.

The Animals In That Country was selected from a shortlist of six other books, and author McKay has been awarded a cash prize of £2021 and a commemorative engraved bookend.

Her novel has been shortlisted for various prizes and it has also won the 2021 Victorian Prize for Literature.

Check out our review of her book here:

'You know when you finish a book and you just know that book will occupy your mind for a long time? The Animals in That Country is one of those. I haven’t read a book like it and I don’t think I will again.

In an undisclosed country, a virus begins to spread that allows the infected to communicate to animals. The speech is almost poetic, full of metaphors and stunted syntax that (initially) confounds those hearing it. The virus starts with mammals, and victims steadily lose their sanity as they begin to hear birds, rodents, and finally insects.'