Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Booker Prize 2021 shortlist announced

Booker Prize 2021 shortlist announced

The six authors shortlisted for the 2021 Booker Prize for Fiction are Anuk Arudpragasam, Damon Galgut, Patricia Lockwood, Nadifa Mohamed, Richard Powers and Maggie Shipstead.

The Booker Prize recognises and celebrates the best fiction across the world – with the Prize for Fiction being open to authors of any nationality, given that the works have been written or translated into English, and published in the UK or Ireland.

The shortlisted authors were selected from 158 novels published in the UK or Ireland between 1 October 2020 and 30 September 2021.

The 2021 judging panel consisted of historian and chair of the judging panel Maya Jasanoff; writer and editor Horatia Harrod; actor Natascha McElhone; twice Booker-shortlisted novelist and professor Chigozie Obioma; and writer and former Archbishop Rowan Williams.

Chair of the judging panel, Jasanoff said ‘With so many ambitious and intelligent books before us, the judges engaged in rich discussions not only about the qualities of any given title, but often about the purpose of fiction itself. We are pleased to present a shortlist that delivers as wide a range of original stories as it does voices and styles.’

The winner will receive a prize of £50,000 – stayed tuned for the winner’s announcement on Wednesday 2 November.

Check out the 2021 shortlist:

A Passage North, Anuk Arudpragasam (Granta Books, Granta Publications)

The Promise, Damon Galgut (Chatto & Windus, Vintage, PRH)

No One is Talking About This, Patricia Lockwood (Bloomsbury Circus, Bloomsbury Publishing)

The Fortune Men, Nadifa Mohamed (Viking, Penguin General, PRH)

Bewilderment, Richard Powers (Heinemann Hutchinson, PRH)

Great Circle, Maggie Shipstead (Doubleday, Transworld Publishers, PRH)