Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

ARA Historical Novel Prize 2021 longlists announced

ARA Historical Novel Prize 2021 longlists announced

The Historical Novel Society Australasia (HNSA) and the ARA Group have announced the 2021 longlists for the ARA Historical Novel Prize.

This year marks the second year of the prize’s operation, and it recognises the best Australian and New Zealand writers across two categories within the genre of historical fiction.

The Chair and Program Director of HNSA, Elisabeth Storrs, further recognised the literary achievements of these longlisted authors saying, “Selected from over 130 entries, the 2021 ARA Historical Novel Prize Longlist demonstrates the true depth of talent of historical fiction authors.”

The ARA Historical Novel Prize is the richest genre-based literary prize in Australia with an overall prize fund of $100,000. The Prize will award $50,000 to the Adult category winner, and the remaining two shortlisted authors within this category will receive $5,000 each. The Children and Young Adult category will be awarded a prize of $30,000 and the two shortlisted authors will receive $5,000 each.

The shortlist for the 2021 ARA Historical Novel Prize will be announced on Wednesday 22 September and the winners will be announced by a virtual conference on 22 October. Visit the HNSA website for further information here.

Check out the 2021 Longlists below:


The Tolstoy Estate, Steven Conte (HarperCollins Australia)            

A Room Made of Leaves, Kate Grenville (Text Publishing)

Bila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray River of Dreams, Anita Heiss (Simon and Schuster)

The Last Convict, Anthony Hill (Penguin Random House)

The Glass Harpoon, Robert Horne (Ginninderra Press)

Our Shadows, Gail Jones (Text Publishing)

The Madwoman’s Coat, Ian Reid (Framework Press)

The Burning Island, Jock Serong (Text Publishing)

The Silent Listener, Lyn Yeowart (Penguin Random House)



The Boy Who Stepped Through Time, Anna Ciddor (Allen & Unwin)

Night Ride into Danger, Jackie French (HarperCollins Australia)

Heroes of the Secret Underground, Susanne Gervay (HarperCollins Australia)

The Detective's Guide to Ocean Travel, Nicki Greenberg (Affirm Press)

The Grandest Bookshop in the World, Amelia Mellor (Affirm Press)

We are Wolves, Katrina Nannestad (HarperCollins Australia)

Echo in the Memory, Cameron Nunn (Walker Books Australia)

The Mummy Smugglers of Crumblin Castle, Pamela Rushby (Walker Books Australia)

Harmony, Richard Yaxley (Scholastic)