Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

ABIAs 2019 shortlists announced

ABIAs 2019 shortlists announced

The shortlist for the 2019 Australia Book Industry Awards has been announced!

The nominees are voted for by the ABIA Voting Academy, which is made up of over 250 representatives from across the bookselling and publishing industry as well as additional specialist experts.

The 2019 shortlist includes some of the biggest names in the Australian book industry (which publishes over 7,000 new books annually) and this year’s list is a top-shelf showcase of high profile authors and amazing new talent.

This year’s list:

General Fiction Book of the Year

Scrublands, Chris Hammer 
The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart, Holly Ringland 
The Nowhere Child, Christian White 
The Rúin, Dervla McTiernan 
The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris 

General Non-fiction Book of the Year

Any Ordinary Day, Leigh Sales
Boys Will Be Boys, Clementine Ford
Dear Santa, Samuel Johnson 
No Friend But the Mountains: Writing from Manus Prison, Behrouz Boochani, Omid Tofighian (translator) 
Welcome to Country: A Travel Guide to Indigenous Australia, Marcia Langton

Biography Book of the Year

Back, After the Break, Osher Günsberg 
Challenge Accepted!, Celeste Barber 
Eggshell Skull, Bri Lee
Johnathan Thurston: The Autobiography, Johnathan Thurston, with James Phelps
Teacher, Gabbie Stroud 

Illustrated Book of the Year

A Painted Landscape: Across Australia from Bush to Coast, Amber Creswell Bell 
Family: New vegetable classics to comfort and nourish, Hetty McKinnon 
Mirka & Georges, Lesley Harding & Kendrah Morgan 
Special Guest, Annabel Crabb and Wendy Sharpe 
The Cook’s Apprentice, Stephanie Alexander

Literary Fiction Book of the Year

Boy Swallows Universe, Trent Dalton 
Bridge of Clay, Markus Zusak 
Shell, Kristina Olsson 
The Shepherd’s Hut, Tim Winton 
Too Much Lip, Melissa Lucashenko 

The Category Winners and the Overall ‘Book of the Year’ Winner will be announced at the ABIA Awards night on Thursday 2 May, during the Sydney Writers Festival. 

See the full list of categories.