Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Abdulrazak Gurnah wins 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature

Abdulrazak Gurnah wins 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature

Tanzanian novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah has been awarded the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature.

The 73-year-old author is the first black African writer in 35 years to win the award – since black African writer Wole Soyinka won in 1986. He is also the first black writer to win since Toni Morrison in 1993.

Gurnah was born in Zanzibar in 1948 and fled to England as a refugee in the late 1960s. He is the author of 10 novels and several short stories, with his most acclaimed works including Dedication to Truth and Paradise.

The Swedish Academy awarded Gurnah “for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents”.

The Nobel Prizes were founded in 1895 when Alfred Novel signed his last will and testament, sharing his fortune to a series of prizes in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace. The 2021 Prize is set at Swedish kronor (SEK) 10 million per full Nobel Prize ($1.14m / £840,000).

Watch this year's announcement below: