Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2022 Ngaio Marsh Award longlist revealed

 2022 Ngaio Marsh Award longlist revealed

The longlist for this year’s Ngaio Marsh Awards for New Zealand crime, mystery or thriller writing have been announced.

The Awards were established in 2010 by Craig Sisterson to celebrate and recognise excellence in writing within this genre.

'A dozen years after we launched the Ngaio Marsh Awards to celebrate Kiwi crime, thriller, and mystery writing, it’s really gratifying to see how our local authors, experienced and new, continue to raise the bar and produce world-class stories,' says founder Craig Sisterson.

'This year’s longlist is a terrific showcase of exciting and innovative storytelling, with our authors harnessing a diverse array of characters, settings, and styles, challenging tropes, and bringing fresh perspectives to a genre that’s thrilled readers globally for 150-plus years.'

The finalists for both the Best Novel category and Best First Novel will be announced in early August. 

Watch a highlight video below:


The longlist for this year’s Best Novel prize is: 

City of Vengeance by DV Bishop (Macmillan) 

Before You Knew My Name by Jacqueline Bublitz (Allen & Unwin) 

The Quiet People by Paul Cleave (Upstart Press) 

To the Sea by Nikki Crutchley (HarperCollins) 

Polaroid Nights by Lizzie Harwood (The Cuba Press) 

Isobar Precinct by Angelique Kasmara (The Cuba Press) 

Nancy Business by RWR McDonald (Allen & Unwin) 

She’s A Killer by Kirsten McDougall (Te Herenga Waka University Press) 

The Last Guests by JP Pomare 

The Devils You Know by Ben Sanders (Allen & Unwin) 

Quiet in Her Bones by Nalini Singh (Hachette) 

Waking the Tiger by Mark Wightman (Hobeck Books)