Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2021 Walkley Book Award longlist announced

7/02/2022 10:57 PM
2021 Walkley Book Award longlist announced

The Walkley Foundation announced the 2021 longlist for the Walkley Book Award, part of the Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The Walkley Book Award celebrates writers across Australia who explore subjects from the news, eyewitness accounts, investigations and history. These books are recognised for their extensive detail, analysis and disclosures.

The 2021 Award received 70 entries of which nine books were longlisted across the subject matters of true crime, politics and war, memoir, biography and investigative journalism.

The shortlisted finalists will be announced in December and the winner of the Walkley Book Award will be announced on February 11.


Check out the 2021 longlist:

Toxic: The Rotting Underbelly of the Tasmanian Salmon Industry, Richard Flanagan (Penguin)

Red Zone: China’s Challenge and Australia’s Future, Peter Hartcher (Black Inc.)

The Mother Wound, Amani Haydar (Pan Macmillan Australia)

The Winter Road, Kate Holden (Black Inc.)

Where The Water Ends, Zoe Holman (Melbourne University Press)

Witness, Louise Milligan (Hachette)

Flesh Made New, John Rasko and Carl Power (ABC)

Lowitja: The authorised biography of Lowitja O’Donoghue, Stuart Rintoul (Allen & Unwin) 

The Carbon Club, Marian Wilkinson (Allen & Unwin)