Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

The 2021 Prime Minister's Literary Awards winners announced

7/02/2022 10:47 PM
The 2021 Prime Minister's Literary Awards winners announced

The winners of the 2021 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards celebrate and recognise the literary talents of both established and emerging Australian writers across the six categories of fiction, non-fiction, young adult literature, children’s literature, poetry and Australian History.

The winners were selected from a diverse range of more than 470 entries and include acclaimed Tasmanian writer Amanda Lohrey for her novel The Labyrinth which has already won the 2021 Miles Franklin and Voss literary prizes.

The judges praised Lohrey’s work, stating ‘The Labyrinth has a gravity that outstares everything that may seem grey or gaunt in a literary endeavour where autumn seems to sink to midwinter. It is a work of considerable literary artistry.’

Each winner is awarded a prize of $80 000 each and the shortlisted entries receive a price of $5 000 each.

Check out the winners below:


The Labyrinth by Amanda Lohrey (Tas, Text Publishing)


The Strangest Place, New and Selected Poems by Stephen Edgar (NSW, Black Pepper)


People of the River: Lost Worlds of Early Australia by Professor Grace Karskens (NSW, Allen & Unwin)


Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai (Qld, Walker Books)

How to Make a Bird by Meg McKinlay (WA) and illustrated by Matt Ottley (NSW) (Walker Books)


Metal Fish, Falling Snow by Cath Moore (Vic, Text Publishing)


The Stranger Artist: Life at the Edge of Kimberley Painting by Quentin Sprague (Vic, Hardie Grant)