Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2021 Ngaio Marsh Awards winners have been announced

13/02/2021 8:40 AM
 2021 Ngaio Marsh Awards winners have been announced

The four winners of the 2021 Ngaio Marsh Awards have been announced and awarded for their writing across the genres of mystery, thriller, crime and suspense writing in New Zealand.

The winners have been awarded across four categories: best YA/Kids Book, best Non-Fiction, best First Novel and best Novel.

Ngaio Marsh Awards founder, Craig Sisterson praised the winners, saying ‘In another tough year for many, including our authors and judges, this year’s winners have emerged from a superb list of finalists and diverse array of entrants as a wonderful showcase of Kiwi storytelling.’

The 2021 awards were held over a livestream event held in association with WORD Christchurch and the Words & Nerds podcast.


Check out the 2021 winners now:


Katipo Joe, Brian Falkner (Scholastic) 

A story that follows a young New Zealander who is recruited by British Intelligence to infiltrate the Hitler Youth in 1930s Europe.


Black Hands: Inside the Bain Family Murders, Martin van Beynen (Penguin)  

A gripping account of the Bain Family Murders, one of New Zealand's most controversial cases.


For Reasons of their Own, Chris Stuart (Original Sin Press)

A tale about a detective caught in a murder investigation entwined with terrorism and corruption in aid organisations


Sprigs, Brannavan Gnanalingam (Lawrence & Gibson) 

A compelling novel that looks at the devastating impacts of sexual abuse on victim, perpetrators, family, and wider community