Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2021 Miles Franklin Award longlist announced

2021 Miles Franklin Award longlist announced

The Miles Franklin Literary Award have announced their 2021 longlist, recognising the best Australian literature published in the past year.

Named after the prestigious author of My Brilliant Career, the Miles Franklin Award is considered one of Australia's richest, awarding a $60 000 prize to the winner. The winner of the 2020 prize was Tara June Winch for her novel The Yield.

State Library of NSW Mitchell librarian and 2021 judge Richard Neville said the 2021 longlist ‘is a rich mix of well-established, early career and debut novelists whose work ranges from historical fiction to fabulism and psychologism.

‘Through an array of distinctive voices these works invite their readers to engage with questions regarding the natural and animal worlds, asylum, sexual abuse, colonialism, racism and grief. These are stories about trauma and loss, and also about beauty, resilience and hope.’

The shortlist will be announced 16 June, with the winner announced a month later on 15 July. In the meantime, check out the longlist below.

Amnesty (Aravind Adiga, Picador)
The Rain Heron (Robbie Arnott, Text)
At the Edge of the Solid World (Daniel Davis Wood, Brio)
Our Shadows (Gail Jones, Text)
Infinite Splendours (Sofie Laguna, A&U)
The Labyrinth (Amanda Lohrey, Text)
The Animals in That Country (Laura Jean McKay, Scribe)
Lucky’s (Andrew Pippos, Picador)
Stone Sky, Gold Mountain (Mirandi Riwoe, UQP)
The Fifth Season (Philip Salom, Transit Lounge)
Song of the Crocodile (Nardi Simpson, Hachette)
The Inland Sea (Madeleine Watts, Pushkin Press)