Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Debut authors reign supreme at the 2020 Ngaio Marsh Awards

Debut authors reign supreme at the 2020 Ngaio Marsh Awards

Debut authors Becky Manawatu and RWR McDonald have been named the winners of the 2020 Ngaio Marsh Awards

Now in their 10th year, the Ngaio Marsh awards were established by Craig Sisterson to celebrate New Zealand crime, mystery, thriller and suspence writing.

Becky Manawatu (Ngāi Tahu) won the Best Novel prize for her debut book Auē, which tells the story of eight-year-old Arama, her teenage brother Tauriki, and young woman Jade as they navigate domestic violence and gang life. She is the first debut author to win the prize since Alix Bosco's Cut and Run

RWR McDonald won the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best First Novel with The Nancys, a small-town murder mystery told from the perspective of eleven-year-old Tippy Chan, who teams p with her uncle and his boyfriend to solve the murder of her teacher. 

Manawatu was awarded a tropy and $1 000 prize courtey of WORD Christchurch, and McDonald was awarded a trophy and cash prize from the Ngaio Marsh Awards. 

The Ngaio Marsh Awards' founder, Craig Sisterson, has himself written a book compiling the best of Australian and New Zealand crime fiction. It's called Southern Cross Crime, and you can read our cover story here, and find out more about the book here