Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2020 Independent Book Awards: The Winners

2020 Independent Book Awards: The Winners

Favel Parrett’s novel, There Was Still Love, has been announced as the 2020 Indie Book of the Year.

There Was Still Love is Parrett’s third novel, following on from When the Night Comes and Past the Shallows. 

Both were critically acclaimed and even shortlisted for categories within the Indie Book Awards.

Callum Macdonald of Berkelouw Books in NSW, who served on the judging panel this year, commented that ‘Parrett’s latest carries the dreamlike subtlety that made readers fall in love with When the Night Comes and Past the Shallows … this novel is a love letter to the stories that Parrett has been shaped by, and the personal history that once defines and directs us.’

‘Melodious and poetic, this book is easy to love,’ he added.

The individual category winners have also been announced online.

There Was Still Love took out the Fiction category, and was chosen as the overall winner as well.

The other fiction categories, which include Debut Fiction and Young Adult, were awarded respectively to Suzanne Daniel for Allegra in Three Parts, and Wai Chim for The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling.

The non-fiction category was taken out by Archie Roach for Tell Me Why. Illustrated non-fiction went to The Lost Boys by Paul Byrnes, and another illustrated title – The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Ugly Animals by Sami Bayly – won the children’s category.

The Indie Awards endeavour to recognise independent booksellers as the number one supporters of Australian authors.

Independent booksellers are incredibly passionate and knowledgeable about new Australian books, making them uniquely placed to judge these awards and recommend books to the Australian public.

They contribute significantly to the cultural diversity of the Australian public by recommending books that are beyond big brands due to their love of quality writing.

Previous winners of the Indie Book of the Year award include Jane Harper’s The Dry, Craig Silvey’s Jasper Jones and Trent Dalton’s Boy Swallows Universe, which won last year.

This is the first time the winners were announced online.

The awards are usually handed out at the annual Leading Edge Conference. It has been postponed this year due to concerns regarding the COVID-19 pandemic.

You can find links to the books and Good Reading’s accompanying reviews and articles below.


Indie Book of the Year and Fiction Category: There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett | Read our review

Non-Fiction: Tell Me Why by Archie Roach

Debut Fiction: Allegra in Three Parts by Suzanne Daniel | Read our review

Young Adult: The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling by Wai Chim | Read our review

Children’s: The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Ugly Animals by Sami Bayly 

 Illustrated Non-Fiction: The Lost Boys by Paul Byrnes