Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

Tanya Bretherton wins 2020 Danger Prize

Tanya Bretherton wins 2020 Danger Prize

BAD: Sydney Crime Writer's Festival has announced that Tanya Bretherton has won the 2020 Danger Prize for her book The Killing Streets. Her award will be presented during the festival, which is running 7-8 November. 

Bretherton has be shortlisted for the Danger award twice in the past for her previous books The Suitcase Baby and The Suicide Bride. The Killing Streets takes an in-depth look at Australia's first serial murders, which occured in the 1930s, and for which the alleged perpetrator remained at large for over twenty years. 

Of her win, Tanya Bretherton said,

'I feel very honoured to win the Danger prize for The Killing Streets. Thank you to the BAD: Sydney Crime Writers Festival for their ongoing support to writers and creative artists in this field, especially in this difficult year of 2020. A special thanks to my publisher Hachette for their willingness to bring these dark and previously untold criminal histories of Sydney to light.'

Listen to our podcast with Tanya below, where she joined Max Lewis to chat about the case and her process of research for The Killing Streets

And you can read our review here!