Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2019 Ngaio Marsh winners announced

4/04/2020 10:24 PM
2019 Ngaio Marsh winners announced

Over the weekend the winners of the 2019 Ngaio Marsh awards were announced at an event in Christchurch. Since 2010 the Ngaio Marsh awards have recognised the most noteworthy crime, thriller and mystery books written by New Zealand authors. 

Dame Fiona Kidman won the Best Novel prize for This Mortal Boy (Penguin), a recollection of the life of Albert 'Paddy' Black, the second-last person ever hanged in New Zealand. The novel has also won the Acorn Prize for Fiction, the NZ Booklovers Award, and the NZSA Heritage Book Award. 

Taking out the Best First Novel prize was JP Pomare for Call Me Evie, which depicts a teenage girl recovering from a traumatic incident in a remote cabin in Maketu NZ, alongside a mysterious man whose true intentions are unknown. 

Finally, the Best Non-Fiction prize was awarded to Journalist Kelly Dennett for The Short Life and Mysterious Death of Jane Furlong, which investigated one of New Zealand's most infamous unsolved cases.