Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2019 Ngaio Marsh Award longlist announced

2019 Ngaio Marsh Award longlist announced

The Ngaio Marsh Awards have announced their 2019 longlist, celebrating the best in New Zealand crime, mystery, thriller and suspense writing. 

Named after iconic Christchurch-based crime author Dame Ngaio Marsh, the awards have been running since 2010, and has grown to include several award categories. 

In a first for the awards, a novel begun by Dame Ngaio Marsh (and resumed by Stella Duffy) is among the entrants in the longlist. 

“It’s surreal and strangely fitting that in our tenth season of the Ngaio Marsh Awards, and almost forty years after Dame Ngaio’s passing, our judges are considering a story that she began writing herself during the Second World War,” says founder Craig Sisterson. 

 You can check out the full longlist below. The finalists will be announced on the 2nd of August, and the winners will be announced and celebrated as part of a WORD Christchurch event on the 14th of August.

  • NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU by Nikki Crutchley (Oak House Press)
  • CASSIE CLARK: OUTLAW by Brian Falkner (OneTree House)
  • THIS MORTAL BOY by Fiona Kidman (Penguin)
  • MONEY IN THE MORGUE by Ngaio Marsh & Stella Duffy (HarperCollins)
  • THE QUAKER by Liam McIlvanney (HarperCollins)
  • CALL ME EVIE by JP Pomare (Hachette)
  • THE STAKES by Ben Sanders (Allen & Unwin)
  • MAKE A HARD FIST by Tina Shaw (OneTree House)
  • THE VANISHING ACT by Jen Shieff (Mary Egan Publishing)
  • RAIN FALL by Ella West (Allen & Unwin)