Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Subscribe to Good Reading now

2019 Davitt Award finalists announced

2019 Davitt Award finalists announced

Sisters in Crime have announced the winners of the 2019 Davitt Awards, recognising the best crime Australian crime books by Australian women. 

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan won the prize for best adult novel, with the judges saying it, 

‘grips you by the throat from the opening the scenes … and never lets go. We loved the atmosphere and the twists and turns that kept us hooked and guessing until the end.’

It's good timing, too, since it was announced just last week that The Ruin was being adapted by a brand new production company run by Colin Farrell and his sister. Exciting! 

Other winners include Bri Lee with Eggshell Skull, which won the best debut category. Click here to listen to our interview with the author!

You can check out the rest of the winners below: 

Young adult novel


Children’s novel

  • Wakestone Hall (Judith Rossell, ABC Books)




Readers’ choice