SUBSCRIBE |  

Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Book Club

The Serpent's Skin

 

This month our book club pick is The Serpent’s Skin, a novel of overcoming male power, the strength of sibling bonds and the secrets that can haunt a family, from debut author ERINA REDDAN.

ABOUT THE BOOK

It’s a cold and wintery night in 1968 and 10-year-old JJ’s mother isn’t home.The cows are milked, the pigs fed, and her dad won’t answer any questions.

Sarah is the lifeblood of their family, and her absence throws everyone off course:Tessa takes charge,Tim gets in trouble, Philly retreats, and JJ blames herself.Their father works hard to keep up appearances, but something’s not right. It’s always been JJ’s job to cause trouble, and when she can’t leave the clues alone, her sleuthing wreaks havoc in their tight-knit community, and she swears off troublemaking for good.

Fourteen years on, JJ has a new life, a loving partner and a good job. But she puts it all in jeopardy when she stumbles across a chance
to solve the dark mystery of her childhood. While pretending to have made peace with it, she organises a final farewell for her mother so they can all put the past behind them.Will the explosive truth finally set them free? •

The Serpent’s Skin by Erica Reddan is published by Pantera Press

 BUY THE BOOK    -   BORROW THE BOOK

Would you like Erina Reddan to join your book club catch-up in person or by zoom?

Email us at editor@goodreadingmagazine.com.au and include your contact details (email address, phone number), approximate numbers of members in your club and we’ll pass this on to the author.


 
Next Month's Book Club Pick

Love Objects by Emily maguire

 Nic is a 45-year-old trivia buff, amateur nail artist and fairy godmother to the neighbourhood's stray cats. She's also the owner of a decade's worth of daily newspapers, enough clothes and shoes to fill Big W three times over and a pen collection which, if laid end-to-end, would probably circle her house twice. She'd put her theory to the test, if only the pen buckets weren't currently blocked in by the crates of Happy Meal toys and the towers of Vegemite jars, take-away containers and cat food tins.


Nic's closest relationship is with her niece Lena. The two of them meet for lunch every Sunday to gossip about the rest of the family and bitch about work (they're both checkout chicks: Lena just for now, Nic until they prise her staff discount card from her cold, dead hands).

One Sunday, Nic fails to turn up to lunch and when Lena calls she gets a disconnection message. Arriving at the house she hasn't visited in years ('Too far for you to come, hon. Let's meet in the middle.') she finds her aunt unconscious under an avalanche of stuff.

Lena is devastated that her beloved aunt has been living in such squalor all this time. While Nic is in hospital, she gets to work cleaning things up for her. Her first impulse is to call in the bulldozers and start searching Gumtree for a roomy caravan. But with the help of her reluctantly recruited brother, Will, she gets the job done.

This heroic effort is not appreciated by the plastered up, crutch-wielding Nic. She returns to an empty, alien place unrecognisable as her home and the unbearable pity of her family who have no idea what they've destroyed. How can she live in this place without safety and peace? And how can she ever forgive the niece who has betrayed her?

 

Items 51 to 60 of 117 total

per page

Set Descending Direction
  1. Political Animal

    The essential work on Tony Abbott is now an expanded, updated short book - and a crucial election-year companion.

    Australians want to know: what kind of man is Tony Abbott, and how would he perform as prime minister?

    In this d... More about this book
  2. Barracuda

    Tender and brutal and blazingly brilliant, the new novel from the acclaimed author of the international bestseller The Slap takes an unflinching look at modern Australia - at our hopes and dreams, our friendships and our families - and as... More about this book
  3. The Sense of an Ending

    A brilliant short novel from a writer at the very height of his powers

    Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectati... More about this book
  4. Ruins

    In the pent-up heat of Colombo, piece by piece, a family comes apart.

    A stunning debut novel from a fresh voice in Australian fiction, for fans of Zadie Smith and Rohinton Mistry.

    'Ruins is a stirring and skilfully crafted deb... More about this book
  5. Promise

    How far would you go to protect a child in danger?

    When a new family moves in next door, it takes Anna just two days to realise something is very wrong. She can hear their five-year-old daughter Charlie crying, then sees inju... More about this book
  6. The Panama Papers

    Late one evening, investigative journalist Bastian Obermayer receives an anonymous message offering him access to secret data. Through encrypted channels, he then receives documents revealing how the president of Argentina has sequestered millions of ... More about this book
  7. Where the Trees Were

    'All in?' Kieran pulled me up, and the others followed. We gathered around the bigger tree. No one asked Matty - he just reached up and put his right hand on the trunk with ours. Kieran cleared his throat. 'We swear, on these trees, to always be frien... More about this book
  8. The Stalking of Julia Gillard

    This is the story of one of the most extraordinary episodes in recent Australian political history, of how a powerful media pack, a vicious commentariat and some of those within her own party contrived to bring down Australia's first woman prime mi... More about this book
  9. Where My Heart Used to Beat

    'You don't live the life I have without making some enemies.'

    Having accepted a strange but intriguing invitation to a French island, psychiatrist Robert Hendricks meets the man who has commissioned him to write a biography. But his ... More about this book
  10. The Road to Ruin

    Kevin Rudd was given no warning, but even he lasted longer than Abbott. Julia Gillard had plenty of warnings, but even she lasted longer than Abbott.

    Abbott ignored all the warnings, from beginning to end - the public ones, the privat... More about this book

Items 51 to 60 of 117 total

per page

Set Descending Direction