Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

T S Eliot Prize for Poetry announced

Jacob Polley has won the 2016 T S Eliot Prize for poetry. Polley won the £20,000 (A$32,190) prize for his collection of poems inspired by his childhood in Cumbria, Jackself.


Sebastian Berry wins Costa

Irish author Sebastian Barry has won the 2016 Costa Book of the Year award for his novel Days Without End. This is the second time the author has taken out the top prize, after previously winning with The Secret Scripture in 2008.

The £30,000 (A$49,780) Costa Book of the Year award is presented annually to an ‘outstanding’ book by an author based in the UK and Ireland. 


Offshore: Behind the wire on Manus and Nauru wins

Madeline Gleeson has won the Non-Fiction Award at the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2017 for her book Offshore: Behind the wire on Manus and Nauru.

The awards were announced last night, 31 January, at a ceremony at Queen Victoria Gardens in Melbourne.

In Offshore, Gleeson asks: What has happened on Manus and Nauru since Australia began its most recent offshore processing regime for asylum seekers in 2012? This essential book is uncompromising in its overview of the first three years of offshore processing. It explains why offshore processing was re-established, what life is like for asylum seekers and refugees on Manus and Nauru, what asylum seekers, refugees and staff in the offshore detention centres have to say about what goes on there, and why the truth has been so hard to find.

Madeline Gleeson is a lawyer and senior research associate at the Andrew and Renata Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law at the University of New South Wales. She has extensive experience working with forcibly displaced people around the world, in countries including Cambodia, Indonesia and South Africa, and has worked with organisations such as the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.


Newbery and Caldecott winners announced

In the US, the American Library Association (ALA), has announced the winners  the Newbery and Caldecott medals.

Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon was awarded the 2017 John Newbery Medal for most distinguished contribution to children’s literature.

The 2017 Randolph Caldecott Medal for the the most distinguished picture book went to author and illustrator Javaka Steptoe for Radiant Child: The Story of Jean-Michel Basquiat.


What's the number one bestseller this week?

The Barefoot Investor by Scott Pape is still dominating the number one spot on the bestselling book charts!


RIP Babette Cole

Babette Cole, English children’s author and illustrator, has sadly died aged 66.

Her books Princess Smartypants and Prince Cinders won the Kate Greenaway medal. But she wrote more than 150 children’s books which were hudely popular including the fabulous Mummy Laid an Egg and Doctor Dog.


Have you seen the books you can win this month?

Each month Good Reading offers books that you could win. It's really easy to enter!

Enter here to win a copy of Moonglow

Enter here to win a copy of Miss Treadway & the Field of Stars

Enter here to win a copy of The Whip Hand


ACT Book of the Year winner

The 2016 ACT Book of the Year for his nonfiction book The Eighties: The Decade That Transformed Australia by Frank Bongiorno. Fellow shortlistee Robyn Cadwallader was highly commended for The Anchoress, which also won the People’s Choice awar.