Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Newbery and Caldecott winners announced

In the US, the American Library Association (ALA), has announced the winners  the Newbery and Caldecott medals.

Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon was awarded the 2017 John Newbery Medal for most distinguished contribution to children’s literature.

The 2017 Randolph Caldecott Medal for the the most distinguished picture book went to author and illustrator Javaka Steptoe for Radiant Child: The Story of Jean-Michel Basquiat.


The Dry wins Aussie Indie Book of the Year

Australian Independent Booksellers have announced that The Dry by Jane Harper is their favourite Australian book from last year and the winner of The Indie Book Awards 2017 Book of the Year.


Good Reading February Competition Winners + March Freebies!

If you visited the 'Win Stuff' section of our website last month and entered for a chance to win one of the fabulous books on offer, check out the winners list below to see if you've scored a free read. And if you were unlucky this time, we have four new competitions happening now for Olivia's Voice, Momo Freaks Out, The Turnkey and The Hope Fault!


Winners of The Liberation:

Cheryl B (South Plympton)

Vin D (Muswellbrook)

Caroline P (Freshwater)

Beverly H (Mt Gravatt Plaza)

Becci L (Yea)


Winners of The Golden Child:

Brendon C (Knoxfield)

L Harpin (Nth Turramurra)

Lois L (Atherton)

Tracey T (Sydney)

Kelly R (Carlingford)


Winners of The Golden Child:

Bec W (Huntly)

Alison H (Mount Crosby)

Jessica V (Lara)

Sarah F (Highett)

Emma L (Queens Park)


Winners of The Cruelty:

Sonya N (Box Hill)

Sharon M (Upper Caboolture)

Denise M (Hawley Beach)

Hayley J (Kallangur)

Mary K (St Lucia)



Somerset Festival Kicks off March 15

The Somerset Celebration of Literature is a significant cultural event that reaches beyond Somerset College to include the whole community. This inspiring three day festival is held on the Gold Coast each year, with ticket sales exceeding 20,000.

Over 30 acclaimed authors from around Australia hold interactive sessions and workshops for both children and adults. It’s a great opportunity to meet authors and illustrators, have your books signed and enjoy a festival dedicated to reading and writing.

Head here for more information and a full program.


Australian and New Zealand winners of Windham-Campbell Prize

Australian Ali Cobby Eckermann is one of eight winners of the 2017 Windham-Campbell Prize. The prize recognises English-language writers who ‘have left their mark on the world of literature or theatre’ with each winner receiving a cash prize of US$165,000 (A$215,490).

Eckermann is a poet having published a range of books including her debut collection, Little Bit Long Time and in 2015 a collection, Inside My Mother which is about the Stolen Generations, of which Eckermann is a member.

A New Zealand writer, Ashleigh Young, was one of the winners for nonfiction. Her book Can You Tolerate This? is a collection of 21 personal essays that ‘tells the story of a girl growing up in a small New Zealand town and making her way as an adult into the wider world’.


Australian Romance Readers Awards announced

The winners have been announced for the 2016 Australian Romance Readers Awards. Anne Gracie named Favourite Australian Romance Author for the second year in a row.

The 2016 winners in the other categories are:
Favourite Paranormal Romance
Wild Embrace (Nalini Singh)

Favourite Sci-Fi, Fantasy or Futuristic Romance
City of Light (Keri Arthur, Little, Brown)

Favourite Short or Category Romance
Playing by Her Rules (Amy Andrews, Entangled)

Favourite Contemporary Romance
Dirty (Kylie Scott, Macmillan)

Favourite Erotic Romance
Bossman (Vi Keeland, Everafter)

Favourite Romantic Suspense
Sunset Shadows (Bronwyn Parry, Hachette)


Sebastian Berry wins Costa

Irish author Sebastian Barry has won the 2016 Costa Book of the Year award for his novel Days Without End. This is the second time the author has taken out the top prize, after previously winning with The Secret Scripture in 2008.

The £30,000 (A$49,780) Costa Book of the Year award is presented annually to an ‘outstanding’ book by an author based in the UK and Ireland. 


Offshore: Behind the wire on Manus and Nauru wins

Madeline Gleeson has won the Non-Fiction Award at the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2017 for her book Offshore: Behind the wire on Manus and Nauru.

The awards were announced last night, 31 January, at a ceremony at Queen Victoria Gardens in Melbourne.

In Offshore, Gleeson asks: What has happened on Manus and Nauru since Australia began its most recent offshore processing regime for asylum seekers in 2012? This essential book is uncompromising in its overview of the first three years of offshore processing. It explains why offshore processing was re-established, what life is like for asylum seekers and refugees on Manus and Nauru, what asylum seekers, refugees and staff in the offshore detention centres have to say about what goes on there, and why the truth has been so hard to find.

Madeline Gleeson is a lawyer and senior research associate at the Andrew and Renata Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law at the University of New South Wales. She has extensive experience working with forcibly displaced people around the world, in countries including Cambodia, Indonesia and South Africa, and has worked with organisations such as the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.