Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Good Reading February Competition Winners + March Freebies!

If you visited the 'Win Stuff' section of our website last month and entered for a chance to win one of the fabulous books on offer, check out the winners list below to see if you've scored a free read. And if you were unlucky this time, we have four new competitions happening now for Olivia's Voice, Momo Freaks Out, The Turnkey and The Hope Fault!


Winners of The Liberation:

Cheryl B (South Plympton)

Vin D (Muswellbrook)

Caroline P (Freshwater)

Beverly H (Mt Gravatt Plaza)

Becci L (Yea)


Winners of The Golden Child:

Brendon C (Knoxfield)

L Harpin (Nth Turramurra)

Lois L (Atherton)

Tracey T (Sydney)

Kelly R (Carlingford)


Winners of The Golden Child:

Bec W (Huntly)

Alison H (Mount Crosby)

Jessica V (Lara)

Sarah F (Highett)

Emma L (Queens Park)


Winners of The Cruelty:

Sonya N (Box Hill)

Sharon M (Upper Caboolture)

Denise M (Hawley Beach)

Hayley J (Kallangur)

Mary K (St Lucia)



Shortlist for Children's Book Awards announced

The shortlists for this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

Older Readers

Waer (Meg Caddy, Text)
Words in Deep Blue (Cath Crowley, Macmillan)
My Best Friend is a Goddess (Tara Eglington, HarperCollins)
The Bone Sparrow (Zana Fraillon, Lothian)
One Would Think the Deep (Claire Zorn, UQP)

Younger Readers

Rockhopping (Trace Balla, A&U)
Within These Walls (Rovyn Bavati, Scholastic)
A Most Magical Girl (Karen Foxlee, A&U)
Dragonfly Song (Wendy Orr, A&U)
Mrs Whitlam (Bruce Pascoe, Magabala)
Captain Jimmy Cook Discovers Third Grade (Kate Temple, Jol Temple & John Foye, A&U)

Early Childhood

Go Home, Cheeky Animals! (Johanna Bell, illus by Dion Beasley, A&U)
All I Want for Christmas Is Rain (Cori Brooke, illus by Megan Forward, New Frontier)
The Snow Wombat (Susannah Chambers, illus by Mark Jackson, A&U)
Nannie Loves (Kylie Dunstan, Working Title Press)
Chip (Kylie Howarth, Five Mile)
Gary (Leila Rudge, Walker Books)

Picture Book

One Photo (Ross Watkins, illus by Liz Anelli, Viking)
Mechanica (Lance Balchin, Five Mile)
Home in the Rain (Bob Graham, Walker Books)
My Brother (Tiffan Huxley, Dee Huxley & Oliver Huxley, Working Title Press)
The Patchwork Bike (Maxine Beneba Clarke, illus by Van T Rudd, Lothian)
Out (Angela de Pourbaix, illus by Owen Swan, Scholastic)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Spellbound: Making Pictures with the A-B-C (Maree Coote, Melbournestyle Books)
A-Z of Endangered Animals (Jennifer Cossins, Red Parka Press)
The Gigantic Book of Genes (Lorna Hendry, Wild Dog Books)
Fabish: The Horse that Braved a Bushfire (Neridah McMullin, illus by Andrew McLean, A&U)
Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks (Gina M Newton, NLA)
William Bligh: A Stormy Story of Tempestuous Times (Michael Sedunary, illus by Bern Emmerichs, Berbay).


Australians nominated for prestigious award

The Hans Christian Anderson Award is the most distinguished prize in children's literature and is often referred to as the 'Little Nobel Prize'. The award is given to an author and an illustrator, living at the time of the nomination, whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature. The full list of nominees will be announced at the 2017 Bologna Children’s Book Fair in April. The winners being announced in 2018. David Metzenthen and Jeannie Baker have been nominated by IBBY (International Board of Books for Young People) Australia as the Australian candidates for the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Awards. Metzenthen has been nominated for the author’s award and Baker for the illustrator’s award.

The Dry wins Aussie Indie Book of the Year

Australian Independent Booksellers have announced that The Dry by Jane Harper is their favourite Australian book from last year and the winner of The Indie Book Awards 2017 Book of the Year.


Somerset Festival Kicks off March 15

The Somerset Celebration of Literature is a significant cultural event that reaches beyond Somerset College to include the whole community. This inspiring three day festival is held on the Gold Coast each year, with ticket sales exceeding 20,000.

Over 30 acclaimed authors from around Australia hold interactive sessions and workshops for both children and adults. It’s a great opportunity to meet authors and illustrators, have your books signed and enjoy a festival dedicated to reading and writing.

Head here for more information and a full program.


Australian and New Zealand winners of Windham-Campbell Prize

Australian Ali Cobby Eckermann is one of eight winners of the 2017 Windham-Campbell Prize. The prize recognises English-language writers who ‘have left their mark on the world of literature or theatre’ with each winner receiving a cash prize of US$165,000 (A$215,490).

Eckermann is a poet having published a range of books including her debut collection, Little Bit Long Time and in 2015 a collection, Inside My Mother which is about the Stolen Generations, of which Eckermann is a member.

A New Zealand writer, Ashleigh Young, was one of the winners for nonfiction. Her book Can You Tolerate This? is a collection of 21 personal essays that ‘tells the story of a girl growing up in a small New Zealand town and making her way as an adult into the wider world’.


Australian Romance Readers Awards announced

The winners have been announced for the 2016 Australian Romance Readers Awards. Anne Gracie named Favourite Australian Romance Author for the second year in a row.

The 2016 winners in the other categories are:
Favourite Paranormal Romance
Wild Embrace (Nalini Singh)

Favourite Sci-Fi, Fantasy or Futuristic Romance
City of Light (Keri Arthur, Little, Brown)

Favourite Short or Category Romance
Playing by Her Rules (Amy Andrews, Entangled)

Favourite Contemporary Romance
Dirty (Kylie Scott, Macmillan)

Favourite Erotic Romance
Bossman (Vi Keeland, Everafter)

Favourite Romantic Suspense
Sunset Shadows (Bronwyn Parry, Hachette)


Sebastian Berry wins Costa

Irish author Sebastian Barry has won the 2016 Costa Book of the Year award for his novel Days Without End. This is the second time the author has taken out the top prize, after previously winning with The Secret Scripture in 2008.

The £30,000 (A$49,780) Costa Book of the Year award is presented annually to an ‘outstanding’ book by an author based in the UK and Ireland.