SUBSCRIBE |  
Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Fiction

Unearthing The Best Fiction Books To Read

Escape into another world. Good Reading Magazine helps book clubs across Australia dive into an exhilarating, engaging story. Our magazine arrives at your doorstep each month with article after article on the best works of fiction written here and around the world. Our writers dive deep into the book and into the author, bringing you the story behind the story and discovering what makes a good book tick with interviews, reviews and retrospectives.

Since 2001, we’ve been rounding up the best in fiction and novels to read, spotlighting authors from cultures and regions as diverse as Scandinavia, the Americas, Africa, the Middle East and our own backyard. With shelves brimming with everything from historical fiction to crime dramas, magical realism and speculative fiction, we deliver experiences everyone can enjoy from the mainstream authors to the winners of such prestigious awards as the Pulitzer and the Man Booker.

Browse our store today and discover why we’ve chosen these titles as some of our very favourites. All of the titles in our book club are available to order from our site, ensuring that your new read directly supports Australian literary criticism.

Australia’s favourite literary review magazine

Take out a subscription to Good Reading Magazine today and add some classics and new gems to your library. Browse our entire back catalogue of articles, interviews and reviews with a digital subscription or have every issue delivered to your door with a print subscription. Any questions? Get in touch with us via our contact page.

Items 21 to 30 of 56 total

per page

Set Ascending Direction
  1. Frankenstein

    This book is also available in large print (font size 16) and extra large print (font size 24). Victor Frankenstein learns how to impart life into organic matter, but his dream of creating something beautiful does not go as expected... This 1831 editi... More about this book
  2. The Hours

    Winner of the 1999 Pulitzer and Pen/Faulkner prizes, The Hours is a daring and deeply affecting novel inspired by the life and work of Virginia Woolf. A passionate, profound and haunting story of love and inheritance, hope and despair.
    More about this book
  3. The Quiet American

    Into the intrigue and violence of Indo-China comes Pyle, a young idealistic American sent to promote democracy through a mysterious 'Third Force'. As his naive optimism starts to cause bloodshed, his friend Fowler, a cynical foreign correspondent, fin... More about this book
  4. Mrs Dalloway

    'She had a perpetual sense, as she watched the taxi cabs, of being out, out, far out to sea and alone; she always had the feeling that it was very, very dangerous to live even one day.'

    As Mrs Dalloway works on the preparati... More about this book
  5. Truly Madly Guilty

     
    More about this book
  6. Where My Heart Used to Beat

    'You don't live the life I have without making some enemies.'

    Having accepted a strange but intriguing invitation to a French island, psychiatrist Robert Hendricks meets the man who has commissioned him to write a biography. But his ... More about this book
  7. Barracuda

    Tender and brutal and blazingly brilliant, the new novel from the acclaimed author of the international bestseller The Slap takes an unflinching look at modern Australia - at our hopes and dreams, our friendships and our families - and as... More about this book
  8. Promise

    How far would you go to protect a child in danger?

    When a new family moves in next door, it takes Anna just two days to realise something is very wrong. She can hear their five-year-old daughter Charlie crying, then sees inju... More about this book
  9. The Sense of an Ending

    A brilliant short novel from a writer at the very height of his powers

    Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectati... More about this book
  10. Ruins

    In the pent-up heat of Colombo, piece by piece, a family comes apart.

    A stunning debut novel from a fresh voice in Australian fiction, for fans of Zadie Smith and Rohinton Mistry.

    'Ruins is a stirring and skilfully crafted deb... More about this book

Items 21 to 30 of 56 total

per page

Set Ascending Direction