SUBSCRIBE |  
Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Book Club

Discover the Best Australian & International Authors

Follow the Good Reading Magazine book club. We’re dedicated to helping people around the country discover the hidden gems and smash hits that belong on their book shelf. Every month we publish a magazine full to the brim with incisive, relevant and entertaining articles about books and interviews with Australian and international authors, breaking down what makes their stories and their lives so unique and so engaging.

We’ve been Australia’s literary magazine of choice for more than 16 years, bringing the finest titles from across the country and around the world into your home. We’ve spotlighted authors from Britain, Pakistan, Canada, Sweden and more, expanding our reader’s minds and broadening their horizons. From page-turning thrillers to heart-wrenching dramas, historical analyses and intimate memoirs, we offer up a diverse and carefully curated selection of texts to our readers, offering something to suit all tastes.  

Discover your new favourite read and browse our back catalogue of articles for your book club today.

Opening doors to the world of literature

Good Reading Magazine was founded in 2001 to fill a gap in the Australian literary scene. Since being founded by a bunch of very enthusiastic book lovers, we’ve blossomed into one of the country’s favourite magazines, tracking down and highlighting the finest books of today and yesteryear.

Subscribe today and enjoy the entire Good Reading Magazine library at a great price, or contact us via our enquiry form and one of our staff will be in touch with you as soon as possible.

Items 101 to 104 of 104 total

per page

Set Ascending Direction
  1. Reckoning

    Heartbreaking, joyous, traumatic, intimate and revelatory, Reckoning is the book where Magda Szubanski, one of Australia's most beloved performers, tells her story.

    In this extraordinary memoir, Magda describes her journey of ... More about this book
  2. Close Your Eyes

    I close my eyes and feel my heart begin racing
    Someone is coming
    They're going to find me

    A mother and her teenage daughter are found brutally murdered in a remote farmhouse, one defiled by multiple stab wounds and t... More about this book
  3. Ruins

    In the pent-up heat of Colombo, piece by piece, a family comes apart.

    A stunning debut novel from a fresh voice in Australian fiction, for fans of Zadie Smith and Rohinton Mistry.

    'Ruins is a stirring and skilfully crafted deb... More about this book
  4. Murder at Myall Creek

    The story of one of Australia's worst mass murders, and the nation's unsung civil rights hero.

    ‘A deeply moving account of a massacre that is a stain on our nation’s soul – and the prosecutor who brought the perpetrators to justice’. -- Peter FitzSimons

    In 1838, eleven convicts and former convicts were put on trial for the brutal murder of 28 Aboriginal men, women and children at Myall Creek in New South Wales. The trial created an enormous amount of controversy because it was almost unknown for Europeans to be charged with the murder of Aborigines. It would become the most serious trial of mass murder in Australia’s history.

    The trial’s prosecutor was the Attorney General of New South Wales, John Hubert Plunkett. It proved to be Plunkett’s greatest test, as it pitted his forensic brilliance and his belief in equality before the law against the combined forces of the free settlers, the squatters, the military, the emancipists, most of the newspapers, and even the convict population. He fought valiantly to punish those responsible for one of the worst known atrocities against the Aboriginal inhabitants of early Australia.

    From the author of Kidnapped and Eugenia, Murder at Myall Creek follows the journey of the man who arguably achieved more for modern-day civil rights in Australia than anyone else before or since.

    More about this book

Items 101 to 104 of 104 total

per page

Set Ascending Direction