SUBSCRIBE |  
Forgot Your Username and Password? Click here.

Book Club

Items 1 to 10 of 104 total

per page

Set Descending Direction
  1. Murder at Myall Creek

    The story of one of Australia's worst mass murders, and the nation's unsung civil rights hero.

    ‘A deeply moving account of a massacre that is a stain on our nation’s soul – and the prosecutor who brought the perpetrators to justice’. -- Peter FitzSimons

    In 1838, eleven convicts and former convicts were put on trial for the brutal murder of 28 Aboriginal men, women and children at Myall Creek in New South Wales. The trial created an enormous amount of controversy because it was almost unknown for Europeans to be charged with the murder of Aborigines. It would become the most serious trial of mass murder in Australia’s history.

    The trial’s prosecutor was the Attorney General of New South Wales, John Hubert Plunkett. It proved to be Plunkett’s greatest test, as it pitted his forensic brilliance and his belief in equality before the law against the combined forces of the free settlers, the squatters, the military, the emancipists, most of the newspapers, and even the convict population. He fought valiantly to punish those responsible for one of the worst known atrocities against the Aboriginal inhabitants of early Australia.

    From the author of Kidnapped and Eugenia, Murder at Myall Creek follows the journey of the man who arguably achieved more for modern-day civil rights in Australia than anyone else before or since.

    More about this book
  2. Ruins

    In the pent-up heat of Colombo, piece by piece, a family comes apart.

    A stunning debut novel from a fresh voice in Australian fiction, for fans of Zadie Smith and Rohinton Mistry.

    'Ruins is a stirring and skilfully crafted deb... More about this book
  3. A Different Kind of Daughter

    'It's hard enough to become the best in the world at anything. It's even harder when people want to kill you just for trying.' - Mary Carillo, NBC Sports

    Maria Toorpakai Wazir has lived her life disguised as a boy, defying the Taliban, in orde... More about this book
  4. Maestra

    Sex. Murder. Shoes. A shockingly original and darkly decadent thriller - Gone Girl meets The Talented Mr Ripley.

    Judith Rashleigh works as an assistant in a prestigious London auction house, but her dreams of breaking into... More about this book
  5. The Hidden Child

    Crime writer Erica Falck is shocked to discover an old Nazi medal among her late mother's belongings. Inspired to dig deep into her past, she visits a retired history teacher for answers. Two days later, he's dead. Detective Patrik Hedström is on pate... More about this book
  6. The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown

    The delightful second novel in the Mumbai-set Baby Ganesh Detective Agency series. When the Koh-i-Noor diamond is stolen from an exhibition of the crown jewels only one man (and his elephant) can crack the case...

    For centuries the Koh-i... More about this book
  7. An Isolated Incident

    When 25-year-old Bella Michaels is brutally murdered in the small town of Strathdee, the community is stunned and a media storm descends.

    Unwillingly thrust into the eye of that storm is Bella's beloved older sister, Chris, a barmaid a... More about this book
  8. When the Music's Over

    The new DCI Banks book by Number One bestseller Peter Robinson has the team investigating two highly contemporary crimes - each echoing and illuminating the other.

    When the body of a young girl is found in a remote countrysi... More about this book
  9. Mannix

    Daniel Mannix, Archbishop of Melbourne from 1917 until his death, aged ninety-nine, in 1963, was a towering figure in Melbourne's Catholic community. But his political interventions had a profound effect on the wider Australian nation too.

    ... More about this book
  10. The Diary of a Young Girl

    Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank's remarkable diary has since become a world classic-a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. In 1942, with Nazis occupyin... More about this book

Items 1 to 10 of 104 total

per page

Set Descending Direction